PDA

View Full Version : Trying To Hold On to That Feelin’

Colorado Media Newsroom
May 27th, 2022, 03:57 PM
From Radio Insight:

https://radioinsight.com/wp-content/images/2022/05/bonjovi-200x200.jpgThey are three of the most inescapable songs in the Classic Hits format: “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Eye of the Tiger,” and “Livin’ on a Prayer.”
I don’t need to hear them again. (https://www.powergold.com/2021/04/28/the-no-wow-oldie-now-theres-a-name-for-it/) When they come on while I’m working, I need to be very busy to let them play through. (Or else it’s a station I really need to hear for work.) But as a programmer, I understand their power. And I wish we had something new like them in today’s pop music.
It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot recently while working on a project for the Classic Hits format, but also because of looking at our Song of the Summer 2022 prospects in yet another year that makes even thinking about Song of the Summer difficult.*
In doing so, I’ve come to realize that those three songs in particular represent a category that doesn’t exist in contemporary pop music: uptempo songs of encouragement and determination; songs that are brooding and propulsive at once. Those songs are undoubtedly part of the reason for the all-ages potency of Classic Hits and Classic Rock now. (“Positive and encouraging” has, of course, been the positioner for years for K-Love, and Contemporary Christian is one of the only current-driven formats that has grown.)
Eighties pop was known for songs that acknowledged the darkness at the edge of town in a much-less-optimistic way. Classic Hits is also the format of “Every Breath You Take,” “Tainted Love,” “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This),” and “In the Air Tonight.” “Don’t Stop Believin’” and “Livin’ on a Prayer” are not the only songs that set the tone at Classic Hits, but they are certainly part of its success, and they are the ones without a current equivalent.